Healing Touch Therapy and Balancing the Chakras

Many of us spend so much time chasing what we think will make us happy that we rarely stop the race and consider what we are actually hoping to obtain at the finish line: namely, inner peace. It’s important to realize that this sense of interconnectedness is not going to come from a fervent pursuit of “happy drugs” or external affirmation. Rather, inner peace comes from balancing our energies and reconnecting with our bodies, minds, and souls.

As a registered nurse with a background in cardiac medicine, I bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to my clients through my healing touch techniques. My goal is to provide energy, restoration, relaxation, and relief through the power of healing touch therapy.

What is healing touch?

Healing touch therapy is a biofield therapy that is an energy-based approach to health and healing. Practitioners give clients a massage, using their hands in an intentional, heart-centered movement to support the physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual health of the patients. By balancing the harmonies in the energy system, healing touch therapy places clients in a position where they can self-heal. The practice has been used as treatment in a wide variety of health conditions:

  • Cardiovascular disease

  • Stress

  • Psychotherapy

  • Cancer

  • Endocrine/Immune functionality

  • Psychology

  • Post-operative recovery

Balancing the chakras

Healing touch therapy involves balancing the chakras, which are vortices of energy believed to connect the physical body to the energetic one. The term comes from the Sanskrit word for wheel or disk. There are 7 basic kinds of chakras:

  • Root: Our foundation and feeling of being grounded. Located in tailbone area. Responsible for making us feel safe and fearless.

  • Sacral: Our ability to accept others and new experiences. Located in the lower abdomen a couple inches below the naval. Responsible for our creative expression.

  • Solar Plexus: Our ability to be confident and have a sense of control in our lives. Located in the upper abdomen. Responsible for self-esteem, self-confidence, and feelings of self-worth.

  • Heart: Our ability to love. Located in the center of the chest, just above the heart. Responsible for generating feelings of love, joy, and peace.

  • Throat: Our ability to communicate. Located in the throat. Responsible for self-expression of truth and feelings.

  • Third eye: Our ability to focus on the bigger picture. Located on the forehead between the eyes (also called Brow Chakra). Responsible for our sense of intuition, wisdom, and ability to make decisions.

  • Crown: Highest chakra of all. Represents our ability to be spiritually connected. Located at the very top of the head. Responsible for our sense of beauty, connection to spirituality, and pure bliss.

If these energies are blocked and cannot flow freely, our mental and spiritual development is hindered. My healing touch therapy helps to balance these chakras, treating the whole person by nurturing their physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being. My techniques truly reinforce my belief that everyone deserves to achieve a level of interconnectedness that ultimately enables them to reach their highest potential.

Sources: http://www.healingtouchprogram.com/about/what-is-healing-touchhttp://www.drweil.com/drw/u/ART03116/Healing-Touch.htmlhttp://www.chopra.com/ccl/what-is-a-chakrahttp://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-91/The-7-Chakras-for-Beginners.html